

Texas State Law Library Human Resources Policy and Procedures
LEAVE POLICY

#### **POLICY STATEMENT**

The State Law Library provides all employees with paid time off to allow for illness and to encourage a healthy work/life balance. The Library uses the State of Texas statutes regarding leave as a basis for our leave policy. If this policy is silent on any points regarding the administration of employee leave, please refer to Texas Government Code 661 and 662 for guidance.

#### REFERENCES

- 1. Texas Government Code, Chapter 661
- 2. Texas Government Code, Chapter 662

### ELIGIBILITY

Pursuant to <u>Texas Government Code 661.032</u>, only an employee who has completed six consecutive months of service with the State of Texas is eligible to use accrued vacation leave. Employees who have not yet completed six consecutive months of service are eligible to use all other types of leave.

### HOLIDAYS

The State Law Library will be closed on the following federal holidays (see <u>Texas Government Code</u> <u>662.003</u>):

- New Year's Day January 1
- Martin Luther King, Jr. Day third Monday in January
- Presidents' Day third Monday in February
- Memorial Day last Monday in May
- Independence Day July 4
- Labor Day first Monday in September
- Veterans' Day November 11
- Thanksgiving Day fourth Thursday in November
- Christmas Day December 25

State employees do not need to use accrued vacation time to observe these holidays. The Executive Director may authorize additional holiday closures.

In addition, the State Law Library will be closed on the Friday following Thanksgiving and December 24<sup>th</sup> and 26<sup>th</sup>.



Policy and Procedures
LEAVE POLICY

#### Texas State Law Library Human Resources

The State Law Library will be open with a skeleton crew on the following state holidays (see <u>Texas</u> <u>Government Code 662.003</u>):

- Confederate Heroes' Day January 19
- Texas Independence Day March 2
- San Jacinto Day April 21
- Emancipation Day June 19
- Lyndon Baines Johnson Day August 27

Library employees may choose to take the day off without using accrued vacation time. They may also work the holiday in order to earn holiday comp time to use at a later date.

The following holidays are optional holidays:

- Rosh Hashanah
- Yom Kippur
- Good Friday
- Cesar Chavez Day

Employees may take these days off but must use either accrued vacation time or holiday comp time earned from working a skeleton crew day.

# VACATION LEAVE

Employees accrue vacation leave commensurate with the length of their state service, pursuant to <u>Texas</u> <u>Government Code 661.152</u>. Employees accrue vacation leave on their first day of service and the first of the month every month thereafter while employed by the Library. If they are absent on the first of the month, vacation time does not accrue until they return. Vacation time cannot be used before it is accrued.

### SICK LEAVE

Full-time employees earn sick leave at the rate of 8 hours per month, pursuant to <u>Texas Government</u> <u>Code 661.202</u>. Sick leave may only be used by the employee when illness prevents them from performing their duties at the library adequately, for doctor's appointments for the employee, or to care for a member of the employee's household as defined under <u>Texas Government Code 661.202</u>.

An employee who is the parent of a child who is a student in grades K through 12 may use up to 8 hours of sick leave per fiscal year for educational activities for their child, pursuant to <u>Texas Government Code</u> <u>661.206</u>.



Policy and Procedures
LEAVE POLICY

Texas State Law Library Human Resources

# DONATIONS OF SICK LEAVE

Employees may choose to donate all or some of their sick leave to either the sick leave pool or a fellow employee. In order to donate directly to another employee, the employee receiving the leave must have exhausted their available leave, must not solicit the donation, and must not provide money or gifts in exchange for the leave.

# HOLIDAY COMP LEAVE

In exchange for working one of the skeleton crew days listed above, employees earn holiday comp time equal to the number of hours worked that day. Holiday comp time can be used at a later date and expires one year from the date that it was earned.

# COMP LEAVE

In exchange for working more than their scheduled hours in a workweek, full-time employees earn comp time equal to the number of hours over 40 worked that week. Comp time can be used at a later date and expires one year from the date that it was earned.

### **EMERGENCY LEAVE**

A state employee is entitled to up to 24 hours of emergency leave in the event of a death in the family. For the purpose of this policy, the death of the employee's spouse or of a parent, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, or child of the employee or of the employee's spouse is considered to be a death in the employee's family.

In the case of inclement weather, the Executive Director may choose to open the library on a delay or choose not to open the library at all for the day. In the event of a closure due to inclement weather, employees shall be granted emergency leave to account for the closure. Please see the full details of our <u>inclement weather closing policy</u> for more information.

The Executive Director may also choose to grant emergency leave for reasons other than a death in the family or inclement weather if the employee provides sufficient reason in good faith. All additional emergency leave is solely at the discretion of the Executive Director, pursuant to <u>Texas Government</u> <u>Code 661.902</u>.



Texas State Law Library Human Resources

# Policy and Procedures LEAVE POLICY

# Administrative Leave

The Executive Director may grant up to 32 hours of administrative leave with pay as a reward for employees whose outstanding performance is documented in their annual performance review.

# MISCELLANEOUS LEAVE PROVISIONS

The Library adopts by reference all miscellaneous leave provisions of <u>Texas Government Code 661</u>, <u>Subchapter Z</u>.