Texas State Law Library logo

Monday, December 22, 2014

Introducing TexLaw ID!

If you're a Texas resident, you can register online for a TexLaw ID and access some of our library resources from home! If you already have a library card with us, your library card number is your TexLaw ID. With your TexLaw ID you can:

Your online registration is good for 6 months. After 6 months, you can also renew your TexLaw ID online for another 6 months.

What is the difference between a library card and a TexLaw ID?

To get a library card, you must visit the library in person and present valid Texas identification like a driver's license. Your card provides you with full library privileges, including borrowing privileges and use of our library-use-only databases like Westlaw — plus your card number also serves as your TexLaw ID. To get a TexLaw ID, you only need an internet connection and to reside in Texas — this provides you access from home to some of our digital resources like e-books and legal databases.

Remember, if you have questions about remote databases, e-books in our digital collection, or any of our library resources, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian!