This month the library will be hosting a social media and metadata Lexis training course on Thursday, September 21st from 12 – 1 pm in the library's mezzanine. Lexis training is free and qualifies for 1 hour of CLE credit, but is limited to 20 participants. Please sign up in the library at the reference desk or call us at (512) 463-1722 to reserve your spot.
The library will hold an ethics Westlaw training session on Wednesday, September 20th from 12 to 1 pm in the library's mezzanine. Westlaw training is free and qualifies for 1 hour of CLE credit, but is limited to 20 participants. Please sign up in the library at the reference desk or call us at (512) 463-1722 to reserve your spot.
The Texas Legislature's 85th Regular Session ended on May 29th, 2017, and the Legislature's First Called Special Session ended on August 15th, 2017. Over 1,200 bills were passed by the Legislature and either signed into law by Governor Abbott or passed into law without the governor's signature.
Because so many bills were passed, it can be difficult for the public to sift through each new law. To help, we have put together a list of various legislative recaps of the 85th session. These are summaries of what the Texas Legislature accomplished and were written by news organizations, state agencies, professional organizations, and independent writers. Some focus on specific topics (e.g., bills related to education) and others are comprehensive roundups of all new laws. Please contact us at (512) 463-1722 or via our Ask a Librarian service if you have any questions.