The Texas State Law Library accepts requests for legal information by phone. Requests for photocopies of library materials are usually ready for pickup within 24 hours. High volume requests may take longer. Photocopy requests are subject to copyright restrictions.
The library also has access to certain court records filed with the Texas Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, and the 3rd Court of Appeals (criminal only). Copies of court records may take longer depending on the availability of the files. Please note that the Texas State Law Library does not have authorization to copy exhibit files from the 3rd Court of Appeals and the Court of Criminal Appeals. In order to obtain copies of exhibits from these courts, you will need to contact the court directly to file a motion requesting these documents. We cannot facilitate or assist you with this process. You may also contact your trial court directly to obtain copies of exhibits.
Copies can be picked up in person, mailed, or faxed upon request. Depending on the nature and size of your request, the library may also be able to send electronic files as e-mail attachments. But due to network restrictions, we can only send attachments that are at most 35 MB in size. Your e-mail provider may have a lower attachment size limit. You will need to verify with your e-mail provider that you can receive a file up to 35 MB in size prior to your purchase. The library is not responsible for returned e-mails or e-mails that bounce. If you are not able to receive a file we send and would like to receive the files another way, you may incur additional charges — e.g., postage, printing, a thumb/flash drive.
All document delivery requests are subject to sales tax and incur a minimum service charge of $5 (the service charge is higher for large copy jobs). In addition, please add the following fees:
|Type of document||Fee|
|Photocopies||$0.25 per page|
|Print documents scanned to e-mail (up to 35 MB file size but never more than 50 scanned pages)||$0.25 per page|
|Electronic search results printed||$0.25 per page|
|Electronic search results e-mailed (no scanning involved)||$3 per document|
|Digital court record (no scanning involved, up to 35 MB)||$5 per record|
|Faxed documents||$0.50 per page|
|Certification of copies (print library materials only)||$25 plus price of copies|
Patron must pay all postage fees and sales tax, if applicable. Payment is due at the time of service.
The library accepts cash, personal checks, cashier's checks, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express.