LIBRARY NEWS


posted 19 Jun 2019

The library will hold an advanced Westlaw training session on Wednesday, June 26th from noon to 1 p.m. in the library's mezzanine. Westlaw training is free and qualifies for 1 hour of CLE credit, but it is limited to 20 participants. Please sign up online or call us at (512) 463-1722 to reserve your spot.

posted 13 Jun 2019

This month we will be hosting a Lexis webinar on Thursday, June 20th from noon to 1 p.m. in the library's conference room. The Modern Campfire: Discovering the Right Stories Using Advanced Legal Research Techniques will explore the latest technological advancements, strategies for efficiently researching, and more. Lexis training is free and qualifies for 1 hour of CLE credit but is limited to 20 participants. Please sign up online or call us at (512) 463-1722 to reserve your spot. Once your spot is reserved you can choose to either attend the training in person or participate remotely via Skype.

posted 22 May 2019

We're hiring! The library has two positions available immediately: a part-time Library Assistant and a full-time Document Delivery/Administrative Assistant. Read a full description of both positions and instructions on how to apply.

news archive »

Library Spotlight

Cannabis and the Law
posted 17 Jun 2019

The laws regarding cannabis and its various compounds are changing rapidly and can vary widely from state to state. The State Law Library frequently receives questions regarding cannabidiol oil (CBD oil), medical marijuana use, and industrial hemp farming. To assist in answering those questions, our librarians have created a new research guide.

This guide includes information on:

  • State and federal laws that classify marijuana as a controlled substance and prohibit recreational use
  • "Plain English" summaries of various marijuana-related offenses and their potential penalties
  • Online access to titles such as Marijuana Law in a Nutshell
  • The Texas Compassionate-Use Act, a law governing the use of low-THC cannabis to treat certain medical conditions
  • Recently passed legislation (H.R. 2 and House Bill 1325) that will regulate the growth of hemp with a THC concentration of less than 0.3% by dry weight 

If you have any questions or would like more information about our other Legal Research Guides please don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian!

previous spotlights »

Open to the Public
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday
(except holidays)

Google Maps image of library location

Located in Austin, Texas
205 West 14th Street
Tom C. Clark Building
Room G01 (ground floor)

Questions? Ask a Librarian.