We are not aware of any Texas law that provides a universal 3-day right to cancel or return a purchase. Your options usually depend on the terms of the contract or the business’s return policies. We also have not found any state laws that require a business to post their return policy.
Some laws that allow a right to cancel certain purchases within a specific time frame, but these laws typically do not apply to most consumer purchases. See our Legal FAQ, Do I have 3 days to return a purchase or cancel a contract in Texas?
Whether you can make a return will depend on the specifics of your situation. Richard Alderman is a Texas attorney who helped draft consumer protection legislation in Texas. He has an article about refunds on his website:
Your right to a refund must be based on your "contract" with the store. Most people don't think about it, but every time you buy something at a store you enter into a contract. [...] The terms of that agreement control your rights. Some of the terms of the contract are expressly stated, for example the price. Other terms arise by implication, for example, some warranty rights as well as the right to return or exchange the item.
You may wish to talk to an attorney if you need help determining your options for canceling a purchase. For more information on finding an attorney, please see the library's Legal Help page.
Related FAQS & Guides